41_n 81_n

Welcome to University of Patras

Video Tour

Department of Philosophy

The Department of Philosophy, founded in 1999, is the only department in Greece offering honours degrees in philosophy. Its curriculum covers the interpretation of texts within the philosophical tradition and the systematic investigation of contemporary philosophical problems and theories. Each year the Department admits approximately 150 undergraduate students.


Slide Icon Sound1 Ηχογραφήσεις Διαλέξεων Slide helpicon 01 Slide Praktiki Askisi 11
Undergraduate Studies

A new undergraduate studies program comes into effect in the 2013-2014 academic year. The program consists of eight semesters and 42 courses, corresponding to 133 credits or 240 ECTS credits distributed evenly between the semesters (30 ECTS per semester).

Graduate Studies Program

The Department of Philosophy offers a two-year graduate study program. Entry is competitive and limited to 20 candidates for each two-year program. The program leads to a Master of Arts degree in: a. Moral and Political Philosophy b. Metaphysics and Epistemology

PhD Studies Program

The Department of Philosophy offers doctoral degrees in philosophy. Doctoral degrees are awarded after a minimum three years of doctoral studies, for original research which yields significant results and promotes the discipline.